Hack the Gap is a two-day hackathon aimed at creating a high-energy weekend where women and non-binary people from all backgrounds and experience levels can enjoy an accessible, approachable, positive experience.


To have fun, connect with others and challenge yourself to build a weekend project with a team in a safe place to hack and explore and build without the headwinds of inherent bias and sexism in tech.


We need idea people, designers, data people, testers, and programmers. If you don't code, that's cool. Come as you are!

Hack the Gap is for female-identified and non-binary people. We use an inclusive definition of “woman” and “female” and we welcome trans women, genderqueer women, and non-binary people.

If you're not sure if this event is for you? Get in touch with us.



Glen Nelson center

370 Wabasha St N #500
St Paul, MN 55102

(Located in the Osborn370 Building)



Saturday, January 26th, 2019

7:30 AM: Doors open for breakfast (No need to stop for coffee ☕️ — we’ll have Coffee Cart!)

8 AM: Kickoff, pitches and team formation

12 PM: Lunch

3 PM: Snack

5 PM: Dinner

8 PM: Snack

10 PM: Everyone goes home to sleep

Volunteer & mentor schedules will be posted closer to the event.

Sunday, January 27th, 2019

7:45 AM: Doors open for breakfast

12 PM: Lunch

12:30 PM: Doors open to Public for Demo Event

1 PM - 3 PM: Demos

3:30 PM: Award Ceremony

4 PM: Wrap up


prize categories

🏆 Decided and awarded by the 2019 Hack the Gap judge panel. 🏆

First Place Prize $1,000
Second Place Prize $1,000
Third Place Prize $500

⚡️ Raffle prizes! ⚡️

We have a stock pile of raffle prizes to give away throughout the weekend. 

Including 2 tickets to see Dessa with the Minnesota Orchestra,
a one month membership to
The Coven, annual memberships to Frontend Masters,
tech books and more!


Dessa Tickets

FB_COVER_815x325P_ bw_trans.png

Membership to The Coven

One month membership to The Coven.

Untitled design (2).png

Frontend Masters Licenses

Three one year licenses for all Frontend Master premium content, valued at $390 each.



Community audience voting at Demo Day.

Tech Community Prize

At Demo Day (January 27th) each person in the audience will get a voting token and the #MNTech community will vote for their favorite project and decide which team wins the proceeds from ticket sales. Cash prize!

🏆 Awarded by EMpower Equity; decided by the community audience.


SPS ‘Thirst for Growth’ Award

The group that takes a risk and tries something brand new will be awarded a prize to truly quench their ‘Thirst For Growth’ – which is a guiding value at SPS. Prize will include SPS camper mugs and coffee shop gift cards… plus some other trinkets. 📈☕️

🏆 Awarded by team members from the SPS Diversity and Inclusion Guild and Women in Tech groups.


Twilio Unicorn Prize

For the most creative/surprising/ambitious/audacious hack, Twilio will present the "Unicorn Award"

Plush unicorns 🦄 for every team member, Twilio credits, and more!

🏆Awarded by the Twilio team.


  • When demoing your project, you’ll need to show your technology live, even if there are stubbed out parts of your application. Do not use PowerPoint or PDFs.

  • Team size can range from 2 to 6 people. Prize categories won’t have more than six prizes for the winning team. Teams with less than two people won’t be able to compete, although they can still attend the event.

  • The project hack must be built at the event, not prior to the event.

  • All teams retain full ownership of what they created during the hackathon. Hack the Gap claims no rights to any of the ideas.

  • There will be no alcohol served at the event.

  • You must read and adhere to the code of conduct.

  • That’s it. Those are the rules.


The weekend hacks will be judged by the innovation of the idea and problem solution; the technical impressiveness; and the impact of the idea of community, the market or the end users. No one of these categories will have more weight than another.

There will be a panel of four judges. Each judge will rate the team presentation of the project with a 1 through 5 for each of the categories: innovation, technical impressiveness, and impact. The total score of each team will be tallied up and the four judges will decide which team takes first, second and third prize.

The Twilio Unicorn Prize is selected and awarded by Twilio. 🦄

The Tech Community Prize is determined by the community votes at Demo Day. 🗳

The SPS ‘Thirst for Growth’ Prize is selected and awarded by SPS. 🌱

The 2019 Judging Panel





Change Agents


Transformation Advocates


Community Connectors


Bridge Builders


Friends of Hack the Gap


Amanda Kirchner

Tony Collen

Virginia de la Riva

Jade Pennig

Vang Xiong

Matt Decuir

Brandon Johnson

Brian Repko

Kristen Seversky

Kathryn Green



Want your logo featured here?

Contact us for more info on sponsoring.